rooms

I was twenty when the mango fell from the tree
I picked it up. Daphny was still young then
So I taught her how to track down the mirage
And imprison it.

I look at my hair
Still rough and kinky
Even though I use avocado oil in it.

Although it has been a decade
I just realized that the cactus
In my garden still grows there

I was twelve when my grandma died
I fell to my knees and cried to my pillow

At the gym
The punching bag stays put
Waiting patiently for the next punch

I look into my closet
At the same style and clothes
I wore five years ago

Leave a Reply

